Entry Level Kitchen

No Experience Necessary

Are you there Willow? It’s me (us), Alana (and Millie) October 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — entrylevelkitchen @ 8:38 pm

This was a long week for me. I’m not really sure why, nothing crazy or insane happened at work or in my personal life. As I sit here on Sunday night reflecting on this past week, trying to figure what in the world made it so challenging, I think I may have finally pin-pointed it. Rachel and I moved, we adopted a kitten, she ran in a warrior dash and I started working full-time again (hi fellow teachers!)  all in the same month. Umm what were we thinking? Sometimes I think we get a little ahead of ourselves.

This week I spent a lot of time snuggling with Willow, losing Willow (yes we lost our kitten once already), searching for Willow, convincing myself that Willow is deaf (really Alana? what cat actually comes when she is called), playing with Willow, watching Millie accidentally kick Willow like a soccer ball down the hall, cooking with Willow (she makes a mean chili), showing Willow’s picture all around my school because obviously everyone is as interested in my cat as I am, keeping Willow from eating the four fancy pumpkins I picked today, and lastly fishing Willow out of the toilet bowl at 5am.

So if you, my friends, are having a crazy week I suggest you adopt a little kitten too! Even if it does make you become a crazy cat lady or display symptoms of a freaked out new parent. You’ll always have someone to watch you make chili and make you feel better when you’re having a bad day.

Willow’s Spicy Chili 

2lbs of ground beef

1 large onion, finely chopped

1 green pepper, finely chopped

3 cloves of garlic, minced

12oz can of crushed tomatoes

10z can of diced tomatoes

1 can of light kidney beans or beans of your choice

1 chipotle chili + 2 tablespoons of adobo sauce

1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon of ground cumin

2 tablespoons of chili powder

1 tablespoon of smoked paprika

1 teaspoon of white pepper

1 tablespoon of onion powder

1 tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder

1 chicken or beef bullion cube

1/4 teaspoon of black pepper

salt to taste

Brown ground beef with garlic, onion and green pepper in a pot over medium-high heat. Once cooked drain out the fat. Add the crushed and diced tomatoes. Stir and add the rest of the ingredients, excluding the beans. Cover and reduce heat to low. Simmer for 1 hour.

Add drained and rinsed beans. Stir to combine, then cover and simmer for another 20-30 minutes.

Serve with sour cream, scallions, cheddar cheese and a piece of cornbread.

*Although Willow tried very hard to sneak a taste, this is not a pet friendly recipe*

 

Leave a Reply

